Trussoni’s ‘Angelology’ Leads to ‘Untold War’

Falling Through the Earth by Danielle Trussoni: Book CoverOk, I know it’s Monday and I should sprinkle a little sunshine as we gear up for another work week, but yesterday’s NYT’s Book Review has gotten the better of me. Susan Cokal’s cover review Fallen Angels is a great piece about Danielle Trussoni’s new book “Angelology,” and though I have a serious interest in the book, it was more the author I was trying to peg. Trussoni…Trussoni…how do I know that name?

Question answered:  “Trussoni’s previous book, “Falling Through the Earth” was a memoir of growing up with a father haunted by his past as a “tunnel rat” who searched below-ground for guerrillas during the Vietnam War.”

So that’s how I know Danielle Trussoni. I read “Falling Through the Earth” a few years ago and it was really good; a truly compelling memoir with terrifying, true-life scenarios of underground combat and the nightmarish aftermath Trussoni’s father was forced to live with once back on American soil.

Once I made the Trussoni connection, I continued to flip through a few more reviews and came across  “The Untold War:  Inside the Hearts, Minds, and Souls of Our Soldiers” and it’s here that I had the sick realization that we haven’t really come that far from the memories of poor Danielle and her father.

It’s been happening slowly but steadily, and like a horror movie picking up gruesome tempo alongside its musical score, I am suddenly acutely aware that we have been at war long enough to have quietly amassed ample material for a new genre of war tragedy. There are now plenty of veterans home from conflict with troubled tales to tell, and this fertile literary ground, sadly, is the triggered thought I can’t quite get over.

So as I reflect on the mention of Trussoni’s memoir astride a fresh review of “The Untold War” my thought is this:  right now there’s another little girl growing up surrounded by the anger and confusion of  her veteran father, and though it may be years before this young girl decides that she, too feels compelled to write about the demons that haunted her father and family – this time it will be under the  shadow of Iraq instead of Vietnam…

A few of the ever-expanding titles about the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan:

The Good Soldiers

The Forever War

The Untold War

My War:  Killing Time in Iraq

Metal Heads

Generation Kill

No True Glory:  A Frontline Account of the Battle for Fallujah

Joker One:  A Marine Platoon’s Story of Courage, Leadership, and Brotherhood

*Support your local bookstores and universities.

-Post by Megan Shaffer

Leave a comment

Filed under Whimsy

Leave a Reply

