To Weed or to Read?

Cover ImageI decided this summer I was going to plant my own little urban garden. Not only would my garden be cute with its clean swept rows of fresh lettuce and red robust tomatoes, but it would be healthy and green as well. So, in the spirit of adventure and sustainability, I secured my space at Bowers Farm, dropped a hondo at Home Depot and started sowing my seeds. Then I went up north for a spell.

Needless to say, when I dropped in to admire my bounty this evening, my cute plot looked more like something from The Lost City of Z. Was I really supposed to sacrifice my reading time to weed? Regardless, I am taking a week to stop and smell the basil. Or try to. In the meantime, check out a few foodie titles that are enjoying time in the spotlight. Feel free to comment on the many other hot titles right now that involve eating, growing, and yes, slaughtering.

Anything by Michael Pollan

Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer

*Support your local gardens. It matters.

-Post by Megan Shaffer

Leave a comment

Filed under Whimsy

Leave a Reply

